Header Bar Graphic
Astronaut ImageArchives HeaderBoy Image
Spacer

TabHomepage ButtonWhat is NASA Quest ButtonSpacerCalendar of Events ButtonWhat is an Event ButtonHow do I Participate Button
SpacerBios and Journals ButtonSpacerPics, Flicks and Facts ButtonArchived Events ButtonQ and A ButtonNews Button
SpacerEducators and Parents ButtonSpacer
Highlight Graphic
Sitemap ButtonSearch ButtonContact Button

 
Female Frontiers banner

Schedule of Events


Read the Interactive How-to, a page designed to help you participate in live NASA Quest events


July Events

Date Time Event description: Registration
Information
July 19, 1999 8:00 a.m. PST
11:00 a.m. EST
chat iconMeet your Student Ambassadors who will represent you at the launch of STS-93
This Webcast will also serve as an optimum time to test your technologies so you are ready for the live webcast during the launch
Register to participate at the Events Page
July 19/20 8:30 p.m. PST
11:30 p.m. EST
chat icon And Now...Live from the Launch of STS-93: Beginning one hour before the launch there will be a webcast featuring experts from Kennedy Space Center and Goddard Space Center with information on the launch, the shuttle and the Chandra payload aboard STS-93. This Webcast will culminate in the live video of the launch! To prepare see the Events Page
July 25 1999 During the STS-93 mission forum iconCommander Eileen Collins answers your questions from space! Questions were selected from the Forum that was available in April 1999
Archive of these questions and answers


Archive of January Events

Archive of February Events

Archive of March Events

Archive of April Events



Archive of January Events

Date Time Event description: Registration
Information
Tuesday,
January 12, 1999
11:00 a.m. PST
2:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Nancy Roman - First Chief of Astronomy and first female to hold executive position at NASA An archive of this chat is available.
Wednesday
January 20, 1999
11:00 a.m. PST
2:00 p.m. EST
chat iconChat with Jean Bartik, First programmers started out as "computers"
An archive of this chat is available.
Thursday
January 28, 1999
11:00 a.m. PST
2:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Libby Riddles, First female to win Iditerad race.
An archive of this chat is available.


Archive of February Events

Date Time Event description: Registration
Information
Tuesday
February 2, 1999
11:30 a.m. PST
2:30 p.m. EST
chat iconChat with Aprille Ericsson-Jackson, First (African American) female to receive a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Howard University; First African American female to receive a Ph.D. in Engineering at NASA GSFC
An archive of this chat is available.
Tuesday
February 23, 1999
9:00 a.m. PST
12 noon EST
chat icon Chat with Dawn Riley, First female captain of America's Cup Team
An archive of this chat is available.
Wednesday
February 24, 1999
10 a.m. PST
1 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Ruth Simmons, First female to head major University as president of Smith College
An archive of this chat is available.


Archive of March Events

Date Time Event description: Registration
Information
March, 2, 1999 All day forum iconForum with Kate Mulgrew, First female starship captain in the history of prime-time
Read Kate Mulgrew's responses to your questions!
Listen to Kate's responses.
Wednesday
March 3, 1999
10:00 a.m. PST
1:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Julie Mikula, First woman manager of NASA's Simulation Laboratories (SimLab)
An archive of this chat is available.
Wednesday
March 3
11:30 a.m. PST
12:30 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Mae Jemison, First African-American woman to fly in Space
An archive of this chat is available.
Tuesday
March 9, 1999
11:30 a.m. PST
2:30 p.m. EST
webcast icon WebCast with Dee O'Hara, First Nurse to NASA's First Astronauts, Visit the event page for more information.
An archive of this event is available.
Tuesday
March 16, 1999
11:00 a.m. PST
2:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Kathryn Sullivan, First American woman to walk in Space An archive of this chat will be available.
Wednesday
March 17, 1999
8:30 a.m. PST
11:30 a.m. EST
chat iconChat with Jean Bartik, First programmers started out as "computers" View the archive.
Tuesday
March 23
10:00 a.m. PST
1:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Chat with Sally Ride, First American woman in Space
An archive of this chat is available.
March 26, 1999 10:00 a.m. PST
1:00 p.m. EST
chat icon Shirley Temple Black, First female chief protocol, first child actress to win Academy Award An archive of this chat is available.


April Events

Date Time Event description: Registration
Information
Thursday
April 15, 1999
9:00 a.m. PDT
12:00 noon EDT
chat icon Chat with Debra Reiss-Bubenheim, Project Scientist working with Principal Investigator Haig Keshishian, Ph.D. on STS-93 flight experiment entitled "Synaptogenisis in Microgravity" An archive of this chat is available.
Thursday, April 22, 1999 is Take Your Daughter to Work Day
Thursday
April 22, 1999
10:00 a.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. EDT
chat icon Chat with Julie Mikula, First woman manager of NASA's Simulation Laboratories (SimLab) An archive of this chat is available.
Thursday
April 22, 1999
11:00 a.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. EDT
chat icon Chat with Pat Cowings, First female scientist trained to be an astronaut An archive of this chat is available.
Thursday
April 22, 1999
2:00 p.m. PDT
5:00 p.m. EDT
chat icon Chat with Nancy Roman, First Chief of Astronomy and first female to hold executive position at NASA An archive of this chat is available.
For more April 22 chats see WON Virtual Take Our Daughters to Work Day schedule

 
Spacer        

Footer Bar Graphic
SpacerSpace IconAerospace IconAstrobiology IconWomen of NASA IconSpacer
Footer Info