Header Bar Graphic
Shuttle Image and IconAerospace HeaderBoy Image
Spacer TabHomepage ButtonWhat is NASA Quest ButtonSpacerCalendar of Events ButtonWhat is an Event ButtonHow do I Participate ButtonSpacerBios and Journals ButtonSpacerPics, Flicks and Facts ButtonArchived Events ButtonQ and A ButtonNews ButtonSpacerEducators and Parents ButtonSpacer
Highlight Graphic
Sitemap ButtonSearch ButtonContact Button
 

Centennial of Flight:
Aero Expo IV

Future Flight Technologies

Event Page

Contents of this page:

the wright brothers glider and the shuttle lauching
with permission from Nick Engler

Description & Calendar

Centennial of Flight logo December 10, 2003, join 300 students live from the NASA Ames Research Center Auditorium to celebrate 100 years of manned powered flight. Wilbur and Orville made their first flight on December 17, 1903. NASA Quest's Centennial of Flight Project continues to highlight the gifts that powered flight has brought to modern day life and the ways that different people have made a contribution to aerospace and aviation in this event entitled: Aero Expo IV: Centennial of Flight and a Date with the Wright Brothers.

webcast icon Webcasts

Wednesday, December 10,

2 one-hour Webcasts

8:30AM Pacific
11:30 AM Eastern
1630 GMT


11 AM Pacific
2 PM Eastern
1900 GMT

 

Webcast with Wilbur, Orville & Katharine Wright

Look back in time and relive the last 100 years of flight in this visit with the Wright Brothers. Talk about the future of flight and what part you might play in it.

 

    a triangle pointing up

Preparation

Before the Web events

If you’ve never participated in a webcast or chat, review

During these Web events, you will learn about the contributions of women to aviation and aerospace. You will actually get to interact with Orville and Wilbur Wright by posting your questions in the chat room!

Before participating in the online events, please review the bio(s) of the person(s) you will be talking to so that you can ask good questions and so that you don’t ask them any questions that they’ve already answered.

 

Additional Lesson plans of interest for this event

Educator Resources

NASA Occupations Chat Lesson (pdf download)

Flying through Time Video

Participation

To participate in a webcast, chat or forum, click the "join" links on the calendar of events, where you can find dates and times.

If you can't attend the live event, post your questions ahead of time, and come back later to check the archive.



a triangle pointing up

 

 
Spacer        

Footer Bar Graphic
SpacerSpace IconAerospace IconAstrobiology IconWomen of NASA IconSpacer
Footer Info