Header Bar Graphic
Space Image and IconSpace HeaderKids Image
Spacer Space IconHomepage ButtonWhat is NASA Quest ButtonSpacerCalendar of Events ButtonWhat is an Event ButtonHow do I Participate ButtonSpacerBios and Journals ButtonSpacerPics, Flicks and Facts ButtonArchived Events ButtonQ and A ButtonNews ButtonSpacerEducators and Parents ButtonSpacer
Highlight Graphic
Sitemap ButtonSearch ButtonContact Button
 

Meet: Kathy Borin

Machinist,
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Image of Kathy Borin

Who I Am
My name is Kathy Borin. I was born and raised in Chico, CA where I attended Rosedale elementary, Chico Jr. High, and Chico Sr. High. As a small child I can remember getting out of school early and going to work with my dad. He was a welder and would drill wells throughout Butte County. I was always intrigued with his welding. He also rode motorcycles. That, I feel, was the beginning of my tomboy career -- so to speak.

During high school I was working at McDonalds as a cook. Knowing I didn't want to do that or anything like it the rest of my life, I moved to Arizona where there was a lot of aerospace industry work. I continued working for McDonalds in Mesa and started applying to many of the machine shops that were involved with aerospace. After about 6 months and returning to a lot of the same places, someone finally hired me. It was for a burr-hand position, but my foot was in the door. I worked hard on deburring, polishing and lapping aircraft parts of all kinds - bearings, piston rings, etc. I worked doing this for about a year, and then got into the machining part of it. Running manual lathe mills, surface grinders, and some CNC machines. I was totally amazed by what could come off of these machines. After being in the Aerospace industry for 7 years, it was time to move back to California. I moved to Stockton, where my parents were. I got a job in Lodi at a shop running punch presses making parts for truck trailers. There is where I started welding. From 1984 to 1995 I was a welder. Knowing I didn't want to be a welder the rest of my life, I still did it for 11 years. It was a very hard job. I finally decided to move back to Chico because my dad retired, and they moved back, and I felt very alone in Stockton.

What I Do
After moving, I went to Butte College where they offered a program in Manufacturing Technology. It took almost 3 years to get my certificate in CNC operation and programming because I was working making Dental Handpieces. Now, however, I work at JPL making parts for robotics. I believe that both school and working with very close tolerance are the reasons I am now working at JPL making parts for the Mars Exploration Rover.

Image of Kathy on her Harley Davidson motorcycleFree time!
I have the greatest family a girl could have. My mom lives in Redding, CA, my dad in Chico, CA, my brother also lives in Chico, and my other brother lives in Cloverdale, CA. I have a husband, Mike, and three of the best dogs in the world--Kirby, Clancy and Pancho. Any spare time I have is spent with my husband riding our Harleys. Yes, that's right! I ride a 2001 Dyna Low Rider that I love. I have been riding my own Harley for over 20 years and most likely will never be without one.

 
Spacer        

Footer Bar Graphic
SpacerSpace IconAerospace IconAstrobiology IconWomen of NASA IconSpacer
Footer Info